Aussie Open: Finals


Finals

Women’s Doubles
Gisela Dulko & Flavia Pennetta def Victoria Azarenka Maria Kirilenko 2-6, 7-5, 6-1

Men’s Doubles
The Bryan brothers won their 5th Aussie-Open title defeating Mahesh Bhupathi and Leander Paes (aka, “The Indian Express”) 6-3, 6-4

Interesting little factoid from the article I linked to above:

“Louis Cayer, one of the world’s doubles experts, teaches the mantra that if you serve 73% of first serves or higher in men’s doubles, you will win the match. And so it proved, the Bryans getting an astonishing 87% of their first serves in, and facing just three break points. The Indians, by comparison, achieved just 50% of their first serves. The numbers do not lie.”

7 out of 10 first serves in = Win. Even I can understand that math!

Women’s Singles
Finally Aussie Kim!

Look, this was a match where I was going to be happy for the winner and feel bad for the loser, no matter which way it turned out. As it turns out, I’m happy for Kim, I feel kinda bad for Li Na, but mostly I feel happy for her, because she seems to have such a genuinely appreciative spirit about her. It’s a great accomplishment for her, and with a semi-finals appearance in 2010, and a finals appearance in 2011, the trend looks good for 2012!

Men’s Singles
On the men’s singles final, I’m betting on Djokovic, but kinda-sorta rooting for Murray. It’d be cool to see him win his first major. With the expectation monkey off his back, maybe that’ll free up his head and really turn him into a “W” producing machine?

Still, I checked my gut with a buddy of mine and asked, “Murray or Djokovic?”. Here’s what he had to say:

“I spoke with the Joker a while ago. Expects his serve to be on and his fear hand to command respect. I like Murray, but Djok is strong, fast, and crazy. And Murray pushing Novak around the court will not get it.” ~ RAF

I’m with ya’ Raf, I predict the Joker in 4

This entry was posted in ATP, Austraulian Open, Miscellaneous, WTA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

